holiday list 2020

Indian Holiday List 2020

Posted by
Spread the love

A very happy new year to all and sundry! So, another year passed, and we finally have entered a new decade gracefully. May this year bring lots of happiness and love to you and your family. We thought you might be busy partying and planning new year trips, so we made a list of holidays 2020 just for you! Let’s be honest, low key we all check the list of holidays as the year starts so that we can plan our up coming days accordingly.

Also read: Top travel credit cards in India

In our country we have two types of government holidays: –

  1. Gazetted holidays
  2. Restricted holidays
Apart from this we have three national holidays:
  1. Republic day – 26th January
  2. Independence Day – 15th August
  3. Gandhi Jayanti – 2nd October

Check the holiday list below:

Date Day Name Holiday Type
01-Jan Wednesday New Year’s Eve Restricted holiday
02-Jan Thursday Guru Govind Singh Jayanti Restricted holiday
14-Jan Tuesday Lohri Restricted holiday
15-Jan Wednesday Pongal Restricted holiday
15-Jan Wednesday Makar Sankranti Restricted holiday
25-Jan Saturday Chinese New Year Observance
26-Jan Sunday Republic day Gazetted holiday
29-Jan Wednesday Vasant Panchami Restricted holiday
09-Feb Sunday Guru Ravidas Jayanti Restricted holiday
14-Feb Friday Valentine’s day Observance
19-Feb Tuesday Shivaji Jayanti Restricted holiday
21-Feb Wednesday Maha Shivaratri Gazetted holiday
09-Mar Monday Holika Dahana Restricted holiday
09-Mar Monday Hazrat Ali’s Birthday Restricted holiday
10-Mar Tuesday Holi Gazetted holiday
25-Mar Wednesday Chaitra Sukhlandi Restricted holiday
02-Apr Thursday Ram Navami Gazetted holiday
06-Apr Monday Mahavir Jayanti Gazetted holiday
10-Apr Thursday Good Friday Gazetted holiday
12-Apr Sunday Easter day Restricted holiday
13-Apr Monday Vaisakhi Restricted holiday
14-Apr Tuesday Mesadi Restricted holiday
14-Apr Tuesday Ambedkar Jayanti Observance
01-May Friday  May Day Observance
07-May Thursday Buddha Purnima Gazette Holiday
07-May Thursday  Rabindranath’s Birthday Restricted Holiday
10-May Sunday Mother’s Day Observance
22-May Friday Jamat Ul-Vida Restricted 
25-May Sunday Ramadan/Idul Fitar Gazetted Holiday  
21-Jun Sunday  Father’s Day Observance
23rd June Tuesday Rath Yatra Restricted holiday
05-Jul Sunday Guru Purnima Observance
31-Jul Friday Bakr Id/ Eid ul Adha Gazetted Holiday
02-Aug Sunday Friendship day Observance
03-Aug Monday Raksha Bandhan Restricted Holiday
11-Aug Tuesday Janmashtami(Smarta) Restricted Holiday
12-Aug Wednesday Janmashtami Gazetted Holiday
15-Aug Saturday Independence Day Gazetted Holiday
16-Aug Sunday Parsi New Year Restricted Holiday
22-Aug Saturday Ganesh Chaturthi Restricted Holiday
29-Aug Saturday Muharram Gazetted Holiday
31-Aug Monday Onam Restricted Holiday
02-Oct Friday Gandhi Jayanti Restricted Holiday
22-Oct Thursday Maha Saptami Restricted Holiday
23-Oct Friday Maha Ashtami Restricted Holiday
24-Oct Saturday  Maha Navami Restricted Holiday
25-Oct Sunday Dussehra Gazetted Holiday
29-Oct Thursday  Milad Un- Nabi Gazetted Holiday
31-Oct Saturday Maharishi Valmiki Jayanti Restricted Holiday
04-Nov Wednesday Karva Chauth Restricted Holiday
14-Nov Saturday Naraka Chaturdasi Restricted Holiday
14-Nov Saturday Deepawali Gazetted Holiday
15-Nov Sunday Govardhan Puja Restricted Holiday
16-Nov Monday Bhai Duj Restricted Holiday
20-Nov Friday Chhath Puja Restricted Holiday
24-Nov Tuesday Guru Tegh Bahadur Restricted Holiday 
30-Nov Monday Guru Nanak Jayanti Gazetted Holiday
24-Dec Thursday Christmas Eve Gazetted Holiday
25-Dec Friday Christmas Gazetted Holiday
31-Dec Thursday New Year’s Eve Observance

So, now that you have a detailed list of all the holidays you can plan trips around the year and do a lot more. You see things get a lot more easier when you have it planned before hand, btw you can thank us later. Keep coming back to us for more interesting content and send us more suggestions. On what you would like to read in this coming year. The last year went really well, and we want to level up with more interesting blogs this year.

Till then…happy buying!

2 comments

  1. I simply couldn’t go away from your web site before suggesting that I really enjoyed the usual information an individual supplies for your visitors? Is gonna be again frequently to inspect new posts| а

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *